skip to content

Home News Post

Six Distinguished Leaders Join TMF Board

Dec 2, 2021

Austin, TX – December 2, 2021

Six Distinguished Leaders Join TMF Board

The Texas Methodist Foundation (TMF) announced six new board members who will each help support the organization’s work “to empower the Church in the achievement of its God-appointed mission.”

The six new board members are:

  • Jim Adams – retired President of Innisfree Investments and Winn Family Office. Prior to his work in private wealth management, he was a corporate lawyer with Gardere Wynne (now Foley) in Dallas, TX.
  • Barbara Boegegrain – Chief Executive Officer of Wespath Benefits and Investments in Chicago, IL. For 27 years, she has overseen the largest faith-based pension and investment organization in the nation, managing $29B in assets, leading Wespath to become recognized as a leader in ESG investing, and a member of Net-Zero Asset Owner Alliance and Transition Pathway Initiative.
  • Dr. Colette Pierce Burnett – President of Huston-Tillotson University in Austin, TX. In 2015, she became the first female president of the combined institutions of Huston and Tillotson Colleges. Before transitioning to higher education, she had successful careers in engineering and information technology.
  • Nathan Johnson, CPA – Chief Financial Officer of RAICES in San Antonio, TX. Using his MBA from the Wharton School, he has propelled nonprofit causes through innovative financial management since 2006.
  • Rev. Dr. Robert Lopez – Assistant to the Bishop and Director of Clergy Excellence for the Rio Texas Conference of The United Methodist Church in San Antonio, TX. Previously, he served as the District Superintendent of the Coastal Bend and El Valle Districts.
  • Rev. Dr. Todd Salzwedel – Senior Pastor of First United Methodist Church in Lubbock, TX. With a background in economics and a penchant for innovation, he has helped strengthen churches in multiple conferences, including growing Community UMC in Ruidoso, NM by more than 50%, and launching a new campus at FUMC Odessa, TX, with 350 worshippers.

"We value these distinguished leaders and their willingness to serve TMF with their gifts. Their diverse skills and broad range of experiences will expand our board’s impact, enhance TMF’s mission, and shape our work for years to come,” says President Tom Locke.

The six new board members join a TMF board comprised of clergy and laity, representing all United Methodist Conferences within Texas and New Mexico. TMF’s 54 board members serve specified tenures and have a rotating chair.

About TMF:

Texas Methodist Foundation (TMF) is a nonprofit organization dedicated to empowering the Church to achieve its God-appointed mission, and living our values of servanthood, integrity and competence. TMF is the largest United Methodist foundation in the country offering assistance to United Methodists through investments, loans, grants, leadership platforms, gift planning, and endowment services. TMF serves the six United Methodist conferences throughout Texas and New Mexico. TMF is based in Austin, Texas. To learn more, please visit